Mâjas lapas saturs ir Strenču novada domes îpađums.
Materiâlu izmantođana iespçjama ar atsauci un pilnâ apjomâ nevis fragmentâri.
Strenču novada pađvaldîba

ENG | LV |


 
 

Hystory

History of Strenči

The oldest data about Strenči were found in the book “Landstras Brucken im Rigaschen Grensze” compiled in 1695 by a German cartographer A. Ulrich. There is a map showing estate borders of the Baron Vrangel – ”Strentz uppe”, “Strentz krug” (a pub) and a horse post that was located at the place where the Riga Street is now, as well as “Stakeln uppe” (the river Stakďupîte).

Strenči (Stakeln) started to grow after the railway line of Riga – Pskov (through Valka) was opened in 1889 and a bridge over the Gauja was constructed. At the beginning, Strenči developed as a forest industry centre and it was a dwelling place of loggers and the Gauja rafters. The number of inhabitants gradually increased and in 1895 Strenči became a village. In 1907, the Strenči Evangelical Lutheran church was constructed and consecrated. The same year a state psychiatric hospital was opened in Strenči and it was the most modern one among such type of hospitals in the whole Baltic.

During the First World War, from 1917 to 1919, the Bolsheviks administered the town. There were fights for freedom in the neighbourhood and forests surrounding the town still preserve entrenchments.

In 1928, Strenči was granted the town rights, but in 1938, it got an official emblem. The blue background symbolizes the Gauja, the four horizontal lines – logs floating along the Gauja, but the yellow rhombi – the railway that had an important role in the development of the town.

During springtime the Gauja floods could be very harmful to the town. Inhabitants built dams along the riverbanks to protect the town and the dams are still on guard.

At the end of the thirties, there was a real boom of prosperity in Strenči. One of the most attractive places was the house of the gardener Venters; there was a hotel and a restaurant, on the ground floor there was a large hall decorated with palm-trees, but behind the house – a closed garden with a fountain. 

Unfortunately, the Venters’ house and other – more than 60 buildings – were burned down in September of 1944. Strenči suffered great human losses during the German occupation – Jewish people and patients of the psychiatric hospital were killed. Inhabitants of Strenči suffered also during the Soviet deportations and arrests in 1941 and 1949.

After the Second World War the most important enterprises in Strenči were the Strenči Forestry (administration, timber workshop, carotene workshop) and a branch of the Riga Chemical Machinery Factory. A lot of local inhabitants worked at the psycho- neurological hospital.

Today Strenči is one of the most picturesque towns in Vidzeme. It is famous for its historic housing scheme and rich cultural traditions. Closeness to the Gauja River makes it attractive for tourism and recreation.

Strenci Tourist Information center 
Rîga Street 7, Strenci, Strenci Municipality, LV-4730
Tel.: +371 64707544,
Fax.: +371 64707539
E-mail: strencutic@inbox.lv